Why I hate Daylight Savings Time, and an overlooked fact

imgres-1Daylight savings time is to parents what the Super Bowl is to the Bills. Maybe a good idea for the rest of the world, but a terrible night for parents of young children.

We have a 3 year old and a 1 year, and we are still suffering the effects of Daylight Savings Time. Our sleep schedules are off and our routine is totally out-of-whack. Sunday was a miserable day. I don’t think I am alone in this suffering. I also think I am not alone in my opinion of DST. I dislike it and wish it did not exist. Why does it exist anyway?

Here is the short version. For a long version, check out timeanddate.com

Benjamin Franklin is largely credited with the first notion of modern DST (to save candle usage) and it gained legitimate ground at the turn of the 20th century. It has been pushed during times of war and the U.S. fuel shortage of the seventies. Now all states except Hawaii and parts of Arizona recognize DST. The major point is saving energy.

And it does save energy. A 2008 Department of Energy report to Congress found that Daylight Savings Time does indeed save energy. According to the report, the total energy savings throughout the period of Daylight Saving Time add up to 17 Trillion Btu of primary energy consumption, which is .02 percent of the country’s total use in 2007.

So, in the end, it may be worth it. If you have ever griped about the price of gas, you probably cannot also grip about Daylight Saving Time.

Crap. I’m out. I suppose I should check my facts. As someone who likes to save money and tries to be an environmentalist of sorts, I like the concept behind DST.

But it still makes for really grumpy children.

And for the record, it is Daylight Saving Time. No “s.” Who knew.

What do you think?

