12 deadliest shootings in American history

I didn’t really know what to think of this video when it came across my news feed. I knew I wanted to blog about it, but what thoughts would I share. My mind was flooded. I am not really sure if this is evidence of what some would call the end of the world. It does bring to my personal beliefs that this world will end one day. Is it a commentary on our current American society? Maybe. It surely displays the deterioration of our moral fiber as nation. But that’s not where my thoughts landed. None of those.

I didn’t even focus on our schools; although my daughters are the apple of my eye, and soon they will enter the school system. Yes, schools seem to be a danger zone if you watch even newscasts. Do I worry about them? Who doesn’t? Yet, this was not my overwhelming thought as I watched the video.

More than anything else after I saw this incredible timeline, my heart turned to pray. I am most terribly aware of our need for prayer. We live in a broken world. We live in a world where these shootings are no surprise. Our children, our nation, our world needs prayer. This is not about them. There is no them. It is us.

And, We need prayer.

What do you think?

