Would you run through this?

Would you run through this wall?

A friend of mine made a comment the other day that has really stayed with me. In reference to his pastor, he said he would run through a brick wall for him. In fact, he said their entire staff would. What a powerful remark. It made me think who, if anyone, would run through a brick wall for me. Upon further thought, what traits cause people to run through brick walls for you? Is it possible to come up with a universal answer here? For example, we would run through a brick wall for some who is incredibly charismatic. This is certainly not universal. I mean in some respects, Richard Simmons is extremely charismatic, but I’m not running through any brick walls for him!

So what trait is necessary? Courage, confidence, honesty, integrity. All fine traits, but do they cause people to run through walls.

I run through a brick wall for someone if I committed to that person. This level of commitment is only found if it is reciprocated. In other words, how much is this person committed to me. My friend will run through a wall for his pastor because he feels his pastor would do the same for him.

For those of us in leadership, then, we must ask, “How committed to my people am I?” We want them to run through walls for us, but we must be willing first. Some would say we must absolutely look to serve, not be served. As we strive to grow, and become better leaders, this simple answer may be revolutionary. Simply commit to people and show them that commitment.

Run through some brick walls for people. Then, they may just run through a brick wall for you.

What do you think?

