Kevin Durant is not good enough

kevin durant sports illustrated thunder

Now, before the entire Thunder Nation condemns me, please hear me out. I am one of you. I even cheered for Robert Swift. That’s how dedicated I am . I am a KD fan.  But, Kevin Durant thinks he is not good enough. At least, not good enough yet. He believes he has not arrived, and there are still achievements to be had in the basketball world. When I read this SI cover, I was taken aback and had 2 almost simultaneous thoughts. First, I love that our superstar said this, and he wants to be even better. Second, success is relative.

I love playing basketball. I started playing in kindergarten, through high school, and still play today. And I am not that bad. I can shoot free throws like nobody’s business, and I have a mean entry bounce pass into the post.  I am not the best, but I can hold my own. I even have an NSU intramural championship to show for it. But I am no Kevin Durant. If, when I was a young, spry point guard leading the Oklahoma Class 2A in free throw percentage, you were to make me the following offer I would have taken it in a heartbeat. Murr when you are 24, you will be in the NBA. You will have won the scoring title 3 years in a row.  You were the college player of the year, drafted 2nd overall, and won Rookie of the year. You won an Olympic gold medal. You are a legitimate MVP candidate and you took your team to the finals.

Are you kidding me? Of course you would take that! Any kid who has ever watched Hoosiers would take that. But, Kevin Durant is not satisfied with that. He has done more than most people even in the NBA. Why? Success is relative. It is very easy for us to look at our life and all the things we haven’t done. While we should all have goals, and strive to do our best, there will always be something undone. With this in mind, why don’t we give ourselves a break. Theodore Roosevelt said, “Do what you can, with what you have, where you are.” If you are doing that then I say well done! Most of us work hard to do well at our jobs. Most of us work hard to give our children good lives. Most of us work hard to have a healthy marriage. We give to our community, our church, or our neighbors. So, well done.

Sure there are setbacks. Sure there are more things we could do. Sure there are things we could do better. But celebrate the small victories. If we constantly compare ourselves to others, or what the optimal position in life could be, then we will never measure up. We will often find ourselves lacking, and therefore be unsatisfied at best, depressed at worst. There are many players who would trade careers with Kevin Durant. There are also many people in this world who would trade places with you. It would do us all well to celebrate our victories, count our blessings, and appreciate our families. Don’t compare yourself to others. Don’t berate yourself. You don’t deserve it. You are far better than you think you are.

I think Kevin Durant is doing a pretty stinkin’ good job. I bet you are too.

 

One thought on “Kevin Durant is not good enough

  1. Pingback: Page not found | Believing in a Better Way

What do you think?

