5 types of friends everyone should have

friendsI read a great article in Relevant Magazine about the types of friends we should have. You can check out the entire article here: 5 Types of Friends Article.

I agreed with it, so I took an inventory of how I am doing. I consider my self friendly. I also think I am a good maker of friends. But this article helped me look inwardly, and i discovered I could be doing better.

1. Someone Who is Older—and Wiser—Than You

I would love to have a mentor. While there have been many people over the years who have poured into my life (for whom I am deeply grateful), I am without some to call mentor or spiritual father. This is probably my fault. So I am inspired to find one, and it reinforces my passion to mentor others.

2. Someone Who is Younger Than You

Ok, on this one I am passing. At least I think I am. Someone may correct me, but I work diligently to mentor young people. I hope that I do this well.

3. Someone Who Has a Different Home Culture Than You

This is where I am challenged. While I have many friends who have a different home culture than I do, I do not know their homes that well. I need to foster deeper friendships rather than acquaintances.

4. Someone Who Holds a Different Worldview

I absolutely love having friends who hold a different worldview. I do a fair job at this. Most of my friends hold the same religious, political, and social worldview as I do. I am challenged to have legitimate conversations without bias with those whose beliefs differ from my own.

5. Someone Just Next Door

I am blessed to have so many wonderful people in my life. From my church home, to working at camps, to traveling at speaking engagements, I have amazing friends. My challenge here is to keep those friends growing.

How are you doing?

2 thoughts on “5 types of friends everyone should have

  1. One thing that I have learned in life, college especially, is that younger friends can frequently teach me just as much as I teach them (whether they know it or not). Learning new ways of thinking or new perspectives to view a situation can be learned by other people no matter the age. The day that I reach a point in my life that I feel like I can’t learn from someone younger will be the day that I pass on to heaven. We must always remind ourselves to be open minded and understanding with everyone, who knows when we could learn something life changing from someone unexpected.

What do you think?

